Informatics, TU Vienna

Vienna Gödel Lecture 2015

During this Vienna Gödel Lecture we enjoyed a fascinating talk of Peter Norvig, Research Director at Google Inc. in the field of intelligent computers.

How Computers Learn

Peter Norvig talked about his long experience in Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning. Computer scientists have developed complex programming languages and systems to allow us to describe, step-by-step how to solve problems such as keeping bank statements balanced. But there are other problems that we can't articulate how to solve them: how do we recognize a person's face, or translate a paragraph from German to English? We can't describe how we do it, and so we can't easily program a computer to do it, but we can train a computer to learn how to do it. This talk explained how computers learn from examples and what are the promises and limitations of these techniques.

Biography of Peter Norvig

 

Peter Norvig is Director of Research at Google Inc. Previously he was head of Google's core search algorithms group, and of NASA Ames's Computational Sciences Division, making him NASA's most senior computer scientist. He received the NASA Exceptional Achievement Award in 2001. He has taught at the University of Southern California and the University of California at Berkeley, from which he received a Ph.D. in 1986 and the distinguished alumni award in 2006. He was co-teacher of an Artifical Intelligence class that signed up 160,000 students, helping to kick off the current round of massive open online classes.

Among his most relevant publications are:

Peter Norvig is also the author of the Gettysburg Powerpoint Presentation and the world's longest palindromic sentence. He is a fellow of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the California Academy of Science and theAmerican Academy of Arts & Sciences.

He believes that a teaching revolution, fostered by computer tools, is pending.

Links

Informatik, TU Wien

Vienna Gödel Lecture 2015

Bei der Vienna Gödel Lecture 2015 erlebten die TeilnehmerInnen einen spannenden Vortrag von Peter Norvig, Forschungsdirektor bei Google Inc., zu intelligenten Computern.

Wie Computer lernen

Zur Vienna Gödel Lecture der Fakultät für Informatik am 26. März 2015 ist Peter Norvig nach Wien gekommen.

Er hat aus seiner langjährigen Erfahrung mit lernenden Computern berichtet. So entwickelten Informatiker hochkomplexe Programmiersprachen und Systeme, die uns erlauben, Schritt für Schritt zu beschreiben, wie man ein Problem lösen kann, wie z.B. Bankkonten ausgeglichen zu halten. Aber es gibt auch andere Probleme, wo sie nicht beschreiben können, wie das Problem gelöst werden könnte: Wie erkennen wir das Gesicht einer Person wieder, oder wie übersetzen wir einen Absatz vom Deutschen ins Englische? Wir können derzeit nicht beschreiben, wie wir das machen, und daher können wir auch nicht einfach einen Computer programmieren, dies zu tun, aber wir können Computer beibringen, zu lernen wie sie das tun können. Dieser Vortrag erklärte anhand von Beispielen, wie Computer lernen können, und legte dar, was wirklich möglich ist, und wo es einfach Grenzen gibt.

Biografie von Peter Norvig

Peter Norvig ist derzeit Forschungsdirektor bei Google Inc. Davor war er Leiter der "Google's core search algorithms group", und senior computer scientist bei der NASA.

2001 erhielt er den NASA Exceptional Achievement Award. Er lehrte an der Universität von Südkalifornien und an der Universität von Kalifornien in Berkeley, wo er 1986 sein Ph.D. erhielt, und 2006 den Distinguished Alumni Award. Er war Mit-Lehrender eines Kurses für künstliche Intelligenz, an dem 160000 Studierende beteiligt waren, wo er beim Initiieren der ersten riesigen Online-Kurse half. Er glaubt an eine bevorstehende Revolution in der Lehre, die durch Computerunterstützung gefördert wird.

Seine wichtigsten Publikationen sind:

Peter Norvig ist Autor der Gettysburg Powerpoint Präsentation und des weltlängsten palindromischen Satzes. Er ist Mitglied bei der Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), California Academy of Science und der American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

Nachberichte und Downloads